Hi all. I am new to the scam baiting game and was wondering if this is the proper way to ask questions in order to educate myself. Example: I have contacted a tech support scammer, but chickened out before allowing remote access. I’d like to know if: A) There is a “point of no return”, where allowing them to control my PC puts me in in danger of them accessing things like passwords or my banking info? ? I see many baiters using “virtual PC’s” where it looks like they’re actual system is not in jeopardy. Is creating a VPC very difficult for someone not very tech-savvy? I’m retired, and scam baiting seems like a great way to spend my free time. These jerks need to be confronted whenever possible. Thanks for any help anyone can offer.

@Scam_Stalker#3924 VM’s are extremely easy to create, and it protects your data from the scammer. NEVER ALLOW THEM ACCESS TO YOUR REAL DEVICE. You can check the resources below for information on creating VM’s, I also recommend you use FireRTC, Skype, or Google Hangouts to call, that also avoids the possibility of a scammer getting any of your personal information. The last great resources if Fake Name Generator, it is a free web service that offers you fake credit card details, name, address, and email in case they ask for it, it’s also quite entertaining to watch them struggle when the card gets declined. Below is a dead simple tutorial for setting up a VM using VMware Workstation, you can check Windows website for disk images (.iso files) of the operating system you desire to use.

http://www.wikihow.com/Install-VMware-Workstation-and-Create-a-Virtual-Machine-on-Your-PC

A: Depending on the software they use to access your computer. If they use LogMeIn Rescue, then there will be a box that says “Do you want to allow access?” This would be the point of no return. For programs such as TeamViewer or Supremo, the point of no return is when you give them your ID and password.