Virtual Machine Software?

Hi all,

I am new to all of this and was wondering what is the best virtual machine software?

I have seen VMWare and VirtualBox but not sure which to get? Are there any differences? Which is better? I will be learning to scambait, rat-tools, testing malicious software/files and isolation.

Thanks

Welcome! (For me, I use VirtualBox at the minute, haven’t tried VMWare prior - VirtualBox is currently doing the job for me).

Greetings , my first post here :slight_smile: I use (or will be using) VirtualBox. I am just getting set up.

I have my first network adapter set as NAT (and in ProtonVPN I set Virtualbox to pass to VPN) with the windows network adapter metric set to 1 (lower number = higher priority so internet goes here)

I have a second network adapter so I can get access to my local network with metric set to 5. I will use static IP and block out access to ALL IP addresses except for my two DNS servers and one single IP address, which will be my webserver for fake bank websites, etc.

I also routed the DNS through my PiHole so I can just add a custom DNS entry pointing to a LAN IP (instead of writing in the hosts file)

Soon I will have an awesome scambaiting setup :slight_smile:

Hi chod and welcome to our forum!