Real or not?

i purposely clicked on an ad and it linked to a download file and i have seen many scams and scambaiting videos (youtube) and most of the free software has a license which does nothing, the rest just shows errors and either gives you a number to call OR download a virus or something

being honest i have no idea to upload files here so here’s the download link for it: https://dl.simplestar.com/utils/SimpleDriverUpdaterSetup_ppc4.exe

@McMeme#136626

I ran it through Virustotal.com which is a website that has all the different antivirus and checks a file using all of them:

Result: only 2 antivirus detected it and the ones who did recognized it as something generic and Potentially Unwanted Program which means it's not malicious. I also checked who owns the domain `simplestar.com` and it belongs to Corel Corporation, Ontario, CA. It's a software company which I know by their software named Corel Draw. It's legit.

Worst case that can happen is that it's not working properly or it's trying to upsell you by displaying a telephone number where you should call and take the premium tech support from. It's safe.