Microsoft Popup Scam +1-(855)-949-0471

Link: https://domain343698.online/768/483957629/errorlist/093958356/7352305285/errorreport/x00EdsjsjhsOkhkasdVX0/

appears to be a working number of an Indian tech support call center

Thanks for the number! This was my first longer scam bait call, and I could keep them busy for more than one hour with a textnow number :slight_smile: I said I was a farmer, got a new computer just last week. They did the usual thing with “tree” and then even created an eMail account and Paypal account for me.

Then they tried to send money with my credit card, a $1 burner card I bought somewhere on the internet, and surprisingly it didn't work. So they forwarded me to the page microsofttechs.com and entered all my fake address data and credit card number to it, I guess for some other processing method. Screenshot:
https://i.imgur.com/E08m7T3.png
Now they are on my VM and wasting more time with all the "security fixes", they said they will need 30-45 minutes. I'm recording a video of it. But looks half decent what they do, installing ad-block etc. Of course, still a scam how they get their customers, and I should pay $325, outrageous! :-)

@marilynbaiter#121827 always try to find out as much as possible such as their company websites, their company name etc. That was a good bait!

Will try to get more information next time, was a bit nervous. They are done now on my VM. They said they will disconnect, we said goodbye and phone call ended, but these scammers were still on my VM! I pretended to read some news for minutes, while they were happily watching. Then I disconnected it from my side.

The video is encoding now what they all did, will upload it later. They installed a few freeware programs and cleaned temporary files, and installed their number in the taskbar. At one point they even ejected my Oracle VM Guest Additions CD, oops :-)