Is this a scam? https://www.onesupport.com/technical-support/
@Scammeraregay644#113526 I think yes but they try to appear legitimate.
For example, see this complaint on their BBB page:
The customer said the screen was frozen by an unknown source, a red screen stating that all information is compromised and it had their number on it. This sounds like a fucking fake scam popup to me and according to that review, it seems that OneSupport has misled this person into buying a service plan when it’s just a fake popup and a simple reboot would’ve done its job…
For this reason I do believe they are scam!
If I get some time I’ll look into it for now take some basic domain info
Domain Name: ONESUPPORT.COM
Registrar URL: www.domain.com
Updated Date: 2018-10-11T16:21:18
Creation Date: 2003-11-09T19:14:41
Registrar Registration Expiration Date: 2021-11-09T19:14:41
Registrar: Domain.com, LLC
Registrar IANA ID: 886
Reseller: Dotster.com
Registrant Organization: Domain Privacy Service FBO Registrant.
Registrant Street: 10 Corporate Drive
Registrant City: Burlington
Registrant State/Province: MA
Registrant Postal Code: 01803
Registrant Country: US
Registrant Phone: +1.6027165339
Looking at their address and some company background, they don’t seem to be a scam. However, reading the review posted by @NeeP#113529 and some other negative reviews where the employes didn’t specifically pretended to be from Microsoft but tried to convince the person that they’re indeed microsoft (screenshot attached), they could indeed be a scam. But there is no proof of that except some reviews.


@NeeP#113529 i called them a while back and they told me that they connect to computers which is usually not a good way to fix someones computer also looking at google earth the address on the website is just a empty strip mall so their is a good chance that these people are american scammers or Indians with a voice changer but id say we do more research about this company and their backgrounds
@NeeP#113529 calling the number the bot voice said press 2 for Xbox support wtf and on google voice their is no company name were the number is which even Ustechsupport a scam company filled with indian scammer has which just makes it more shady
[[3,4],[1,3,4,21,71]]
Number got screwed over. Gives me code fail so that means someone attacked their phone lines and drained their minutes. Welp, gotta wait till later.
OneSupport is a 100% US-Based Technical Support company. It is Not a Scam by any means. We all are born-and-raised Americans here, and speak perfect English.
Yes there is a Monthly or Yearly fee for the Technical Support Service (as with all things in life, nothing worthwhile is ever free), but it is only $14.99 per month. Whereas real Scammers want ridiculous amounts of money, like $500 to $1,000 and they typically want be paid in strange or untraceable ways like Gift Cards etc…and will tell you that your computer is riddled with “Viruses”. Basically the Scammers trick you into letting them onto your computer then show you the Windows Event Log and claim those are “viruses”. They are not…it’s just one of the Scammers’ Tactics to try to get your money. The Event Log just records all things that Windows does, and whether the process was successful or not.
That said, there is a big difference between a legitimate company like OneSupport, and those Scammers that impersonate Microsoft to try to get your money. We get a lot of calls where we have to go in and Reverse the malicious things that Scammers did to peoples computers when they decide not to pay them the $1,000 the Scammers demanded.
We here at OneSupport will never ask you for any Financial Information (with the exception of during the initial Sales Call, when we need a Credit or Debit Card Number to activate your Monthly or Yearly Subscription…but that is kept in a separate Secure System and is very protected). These Recurring Charges can be cancelled at any time YOU choose, just by calling in and requesting cancellation. The Monthly or Yearly Subscription appears on your Credit Card Bill as “OneSupport” and we do not hide our identity in any way.
The primary form of Technical Support is Live Remote Assistance…where we Remote into your computer to assist you one-on-one. Permission is needed to get into your machine Every Time we connect, and you can end the session at any time just by closing the Log Me In Rescue (aka LMIR) window, or Revoking Permissions. We will never do anything to harm your computer, and will always Ask for your permission before we add or remove anything to/from your machine.
OneSupport is accredited by the Better Business Bureau. It is a real company and has been around for over 20 years now. We are Headquartered at:
350 Barnes Drive
San Marcos, TX 78666
And that is a real office building, and not some “strip mall” as described in one of the below posts.
If you have any questions, or wish to sign up for Technical Support Service, you may contact us at: 844-818-3415
Please be advised that OneSupport is here to assist anyone and everyone who has Computer Issues, no matter how large, small, weird, or trivial that issue may be.
Just because this person was not as tech-saavy as you are, and got scared by the Malware Popup…and panicked then called us for assistance, does not imply any Scam in any way. It was entirely the customer’s choice to call and sign up for service.
We did not “mislead” them into purchasing a Subscription. The customer was given all factual and necessary information on the subscription, before the purchase was made. We even have a disclaimer that is required to be read verbatim to the customer before we are allowed to charge their card.
so you don’t deny that your number appears on malware pop ups?
You scammed the customer. Why?
-
The customer got a fake popup and, as a result, called your tech support. How did he get your number out of thousands of available tech supports and web results warning about this scam? It was displayed on the popup! You’re using those fake popups as a fraudulent means of advertising!
-
When the customer called, you persuaded him to pay for a tech support plan - which is not necessary at all! Any ethical and legitimate tech support agent would have recognized the issue and that a popup is not really malicious. There is no need for tech support. A simple force close of the browser is all what is required. Instead you pushed sales which is unethical and scummy.
-
The argument that it’s “just” $14.99 instead of the $500 one-time payment of the scammers does not make any sense because just after 3 years you are more expensive than a $500 one-time payment. Also scammers give support for several years in many cases. You just have a different payment model, however, there is no reason to believe that one is better than the other in terms of being scam or not.
-
Your argument that scammers use gift cards and you use credit cards is only semi-valid. Yes, you’re right, some scammers do use gift cards and it’s evidence of scam. However, there are plenty of scammers who also use credit cards. All what is required is having a US company set up, which many of them do! If you want to see one, then visit my YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3q96C9Wedhk or on my website at https://neepscambaiting.com/julianbrand/
All in all, it can be concluded that you’re a scam business
So after 3 years you are trying to “erase” any lingering reports of scam activity? Just because you are American and speak English doesn’t mean your not scamming.
