My name is Brian, and I’m the Marketing Head at Geek Of States and live in Kansas City. Recently, we’ve been receiving increased attention from this platform, including a surge of unwanted calls from so-called “scambaiters.” I’d like to clarify a few important points and provide some context around what’s been happening.
Over the past few years, a new type of operation has emerged in the scam ecosystem—call vendors. These entities generate high volumes of inbound calls and sell or distribute them to various scam centers, typically on a per-call basis. To attract buyers, they run aggressive campaigns, often impersonating well-known brands like Microsoft by misusing domains such as microsoft.com or learn.microsoft.com. They frequently rotate phone numbers—sometimes daily or even hourly—and launch hundreds of ads every day to generate thousands of calls.
We have been approached repeatedly by such vendors over the past few months. In several instances, they have pressured us to purchase leads from them, even suggesting that if we refused, our number would be posted on scam-reporting forums. We have recordings of these interactions. Based on what we’ve observed, some of these groups misuse platforms like this to target businesses that do not cooperate with them.
Now, addressing Geek Of States directly:
-
Consistency of contact details
Unlike many of these operations that constantly change phone numbers, we have used the same toll-free number since day one. The posts referencing us began around December 2024, yet our contact details have remained unchanged. -
Physical presence
We operate physical offices in both the United States and Canada. Customers can visit us in person, and we have dedicated staff at these locations. We are not an anonymous or virtual-only operation. -
About certain users/posts
Some accounts repeatedly post only about “Microsoft scams” and follow a clear pattern. We believe certain posts may be driven by individuals connected to call-vending networks, though readers should evaluate all claims critically. -
Advertising practices
Around mid-2024, we observed a sudden surge of ads impersonating Microsoft using high-authority domains. This significantly impacted legitimate advertisers. As a response to remain competitive and visible, we adapted our advertising strategy. Regardless of the landing source, we clearly identify ourselves as Geek Of States within seconds of any interaction. -
Why we are not a scam
-
Same toll-free number for over 5 years
-
Established physical offices in North America (with expansion planned)
-
No use of gift cards or cryptocurrency—payments are processed via credit cards, which provide consumer protection and allow disputes if a customer is dissatisfied
-
We understand the importance of vigilance in this space. At the same time, it’s equally important to distinguish between anonymous, rapidly changing scam operations and established businesses with verifiable presence and accountability.
NOW AN UPDATE
google recently invited us to address all concerned in march 2026 and already confirmed that they are implementing major changes this month and you wont see any tech support scam as soon as from this week on google , like all printers and antivirus scam ads
USER @Mafiaking are the real scammer from India and have real interest thats why only posting about Microsoft ads (such a looser)
i request @admins to have some checks before any Indian just creating a random account and posting shit without any checks
look at the @Mafiaking timeline a indian scammer only posted about other comptertior creating a problem form him to sell his calls
i will upload few recording as i requested them from our admin
PS;- we are creating a great support experience for north American people so they can talk to americans and canadians to get support .
where numberking gone , he also called us like many times asked for a deal in order to not to post our number here , and we said you are free please post it. i am sure there many are still active there though its admin job here to remove these call vendors from India.
also i also signed up using temp email so wont come here to post again. Thanks